Chapter Ten – “Halloween”

I feel like this is the first chapter that really starts us on our journey toward the climax of the book. Expect my blog posts to be a bit longer for the rest of the book, as the chapters are getting more complex. Also, there is a lot of Quidditch in this chapter, so get ready to hear mostly about that.

Malfoy is such a little snot, trying to get Ron and Harry get expelled all the time. Doesn’t he realize that school wouldn’t be as fun for him, Crabbe, and Goyle anymore if they don’t have Harry, Ron, and Hermione to mess with? Malfoy would have so much more free time. He’d be so bored.

Even though I’m a defender in soccer, I feel like I’d be a Chaser in Quidditch. I couldn’t be a Seeker; I have terrible eyesight. I’ve never played the Muggle version of Quidditch, but I think I’d be decent at it. Who wants to start a team with me?

I love that the record for the longest Quidditch match is three months (169). Where was the Snitch that whole time? I wonder if anyone stayed to watch the whole thing. And why is it that they could bring out substitutes for that game, but the Hogwarts teams only hold exactly the amount of players it takes to field a team? They mention that there are reserve players, but we never see them practicing with the team, which seems like poor planning. You would think that with the high threat of injury and the amount of students interested in the sport, they would keep at least a few players on the bench.

“He understood what he had to do all right, it was doing it that was the problem.” (170). This is so apropos to so many things in life. Intent is one thing – execution is another.

Is Hogwarts the only wizarding school in the UK? It just seems to me that, with the amount of students that come out of Hogwarts and the number of professional Quidditch teams from the UK that we learn about (plus the national teams), almost every player from Hogwarts would have to play professionally for there to be a league. My math might be off there (I’m sure it is), but all I’m wondering is if it’s really that impressive that Charlie Weasley almost went pro. Clearly, I’m overthinking this.

Poor Hermione. She just wants to do well in school, but no one is nice to her. Kids are such jerks. “It’s no wonder no one can stand her. She’s a nightmare, honestly.” (172).

Random thought – since I grew up in the United States and went to public school, I had no idea what a “prefect” was. I have a distinct memory of reading it as “perfect” the first time I read the first book when I was 10. Perfect Percy the Prefect. Sounds about right.

I wish trolls looked more like this:

And less like this:

“Harry then did something that was both very brave and very stupid.” (176). Such a Gryffindor.

I always wondered why trolls wear trousers. Do they make clothes by themselves, or do wizards provide them? I understand the need to have this large, sort of human-like creature in pants in a children’s book, but I also like to imagine a big, smelly troll sitting intently at a sewing machine, making pants.

I can’t believe McGonagall only gives Ron and Harry five points each for defeating a troll by themselves. The points system at Hogwarts is so arbitrary.

The last line of this chapter is one of my favorites in the series. And if it’s good enough to end the chapter, it’s good enough to end this blog post: “There are some things you can’t share without ending up liking each other, and knocking out a twelve foot mountain troll is one of them.” (179).

One thought on “Chapter Ten – “Halloween”

  1. Pingback: Chapter Eleven – “Quidditch” | Magic in the Margins

What Do You Think?

